Skip to content

Salt: A Super Sweet Brunch

Maybe the food just tasted good to my hung-over taste buds, but Salt has a pretty sweet brunch going for it.

Down-to-earth, homey, and just like my grandmother’s kitchen (dressed up, in New York, with hot sauce), Salt is the ideal spot for a laid-back and relaxed Sunday brunch. The waitress, dressed to the T in New York downtown too-cool-for-school casual attire, understood perfectly my party’s need for constant coffee refills. And the coffee was insanely delicious: strong, flavorful, STRONG.

There was something about the long communal wood tables and big bright windows facing the street that charmed me to no end. Once again, it could have been the desperate need to be anywhere with food and coffee.

The food was simple and savory. Big portions with fresh ingredients – no funky sauces or overdone presentation. Just good food.

I had a toasted bagel with a hefty helping of cream cheese and super thick fatty pork bacon – cooked PERFECTLY. I actually think this is the best bacon I have ever had, and I LOVE bacon.

My boyfriend had a lamb burger in a pita with tsatziki and veggies. Not my style, but he cleaned his plate completely. If you have questions, call him – I can’t handle lamb at brunch.

My friend had a gigantic spinach and goat cheese omelette – stuffed to the brim, fluffy, and perfectly seasoned. A generous side of breakfast potatoes with just enough salt and some MAGIC spice on them topped off an excellent dish.

The best part of it though? THE HOT SAUCE. Thick, creamy, spicy and hearty – this is not watery crap like Tabasco. They serve REAL hot sauce that you just want to slather everything with.

We liked it so much that we stopped potential diners on the corner and told them to try it!

Salt on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

